May 15 2021
4:04 AM
banner-icon1 banner-icon2 banner-icon3

Local Oregon News

Local News Index

Previous story Oregon restaurants pivot again as new indoor dining restrictions take effect Next story
  Starting April 30, indoor dining will be prohibited at restaurants in 15 Oregon counties for at least the next week   15 Oregon counties that Gov. Kate Brown pushed back to the extreme risk category, meaning no more indoor dining  

Story by Katherine Cook
Published on Saturday May 1, 2021 - 9:08 AM

PORTLAND, Oregon - At Mangiare Italian Restaurant in Independence, manager Chrystal Law is grateful for their spacious outdoor patio. With tables covered in red umbrellas, flanked by portable heaters, it's the only place where customers will be allowed to dine at the restaurant for at least the next week.

Starting Friday, Polk County was one of 15 Oregon counties that Gov. Kate Brown pushed back to the extreme risk category, meaning no more indoor dining.

"It's very difficult for us and it's difficult for our customers," said Law. "Friday night is traditionally our busiest night so this will kind of give us a good judge on how the next 10 days — maybe three weeks, hopefully not another three months — will go."

For many Oregon restaurants, the fluctuating restrictions have felt like a guessing game that they're tired of playing...


Here are the 15 Oregon counties moving to extreme COVID risk

The move to extreme risk bans indoor dining at restaurants and significantly reduces the number of people who can be inside a gym or indoor entertainment space.

Extreme risk (15 counties)

  • Baker (Moved from High)
  • Clackamas (Moved from High)
  • Columbia (Moved from High)
  • Crook (Moved from High)
  • Deschutes (Moved from High)
  • Grant (Moved from Lower)
  • Jackson (Moved from High)
  • Josephine (Moved from High)
  • Klamath (Moved from High)
  • Lane (Moved from High)
  • Linn (Moved from High)
  • Marion (Moved from High)
  • Multnomah (Moved from High)
  • Polk (Moved from High)
  • Wasco (Moved from High)

High risk (9 counties)

  • Benton
  • Clatsop
  • Coos
  • Hood River (Moved from Moderate)
  • Jefferson
  • Lincoln
  • Washington
  • Umatilla (Moved from Moderate)
  • Yamhill

Moderate risk (4 counties)

  • Curry
  • Douglas (Moved from High)
  • Malheur (Moved from Lower)
  • Tillamook (Moved from High)

Lower risk (8 counties)

  • Gilliam
  • Harney
  • Lake
  • Morrow
  • Sherman
  • Union
  • Wallowa
  • Wheeler


by KGW Staff