June 25 2019
12:47 PM
Page width:
2016 Marshall Public & Youth Leadership Award Nominees Announced
by Oregon State Media, Inc.
  Wednesday February 24, 2016 - 5:27 PM
Five Clark County residents have been nominated for the General George C. Marshall Public Leadership Award, and 37 Clark County High School seniors have been nominated for the General George C. Marshall Youth Leadership Award. The two 2016 award recipients (one adult and one youth) will be announced at a ceremony at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, March 9 at the Fort Vancouver Artillery Barracks Building, followed by a dinner reception. The ceremony will be televised later on CVTV. For more information contact the Fort Vancouver National Trust at 360-992-1804. 

The Marshall Public & Youth Leadership Awards, honoring the legacy of General George C. Marshall, are sponsored by Riverview Community Bank and organized by the Fort Vancouver National Trust as one of its Celebrate Freedom programs. This is the 15th year honoring the youth in our community, and the 27th year honoring an adult public leader. 

General Marshall lived in Vancouver from 1936 to 1938, serving as a Brigadier General and Commander of the 5th Infantry Brigade at Vancouver Barracks. During World War II, Marshall served as the Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army. He was Secretary of State from 1947 to 1949, and was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his work on the Marshall Plan, which helped rebuild the economies of Europe and the Pacific nations after the war. 

"General Marshall's contributions to our world, nation, and region provide a lasting example of selfless service and leadership that are in high demand today. His characteristics of honesty, integrity, strong work ethic and humility set an inspirational framework for the leaders of today and the up and coming leaders. This year, we received several outstanding candidates from across Clark County that exemplify some of the traits of General Marshall. It is inspiring to see the talented and capable leaders that live and work here in Clark County," said Phil Haberthur, chair of the Marshall Public Leadership Award selection committee. 

Nominees for the 2016 Marshall Public Leadership Award are: 
Chelsea Chunn, SW Washington Workforce Development Council 
Craig Ebersole, Clark College 
Scott Schachterle, SEH America 
Paige Spratt, Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt 
Jessica Tijerina-Turpeinen, A Merry Heart Events, Owner 

The Public Leadership Award recipient will receive a scholarship to participate in the Leadership Clark County program, and a scholarship to tour the Marshall Foundation in Lexington, Virginia and visit Colonial Williamsburg and Washington, D.C. The recipient will participate in Celebrate Freedom programs throughout the year, and will have opportunities to meet with local elected officials. 

The recipients are selected by the Marshall Selection Committee, which consists of community members and is chaired by Phil Haberthur. Other committee members are Dr. Leslie Burger, retired Army general; Larry Smith, retired Mayor pro tempore; Maggie Traverso, Riverview Community Bank; Sheryl Beauchaine; and previous Marshall Award recipients, John McIlvain, Jordan Boldt, and John Blom. Selection is based on demonstrated leadership ability, commitment to public service, academic achievement, and potential for an ongoing active role in public service. 

Nominees for the 2016 Marshall Youth Leadership Award are: 
Autumn Beck, Fort Vancouver High School 
Thomas Brennan, Hockinson High School 
Elizabeth Bronder, Hudson's Bay High School 
Hallie Brosius, Hockinson High School 
Kellen Butler, Battle Ground High School 
Leticia Chacon, Fort Vancouver High School 
Astrid DuBois, Vancouver iTech Preparatory 
Jorie Freitag, Seton Catholic High School 
Trey Gullickson, Prairie High School 
Jourdan Hale, Mountain View High School 
Kaitlyn Hill, Vancouver iTech Preparatory 
Aléna Jarvis, Battle Ground High School 
Meleah Kainu, King's Way Christian High School 
Patrick Keller, Prairie High School 
Makena Kerr, Fort Vancouver High School 
Sarah Kleier, Columbia River High School 
Ethan Knight, Mountain View High School 
Christina Lundy, Mountain View High School 
Matthew McBroom, Hudson's Bay High School 
Mackenna McClone, Seton Catholic High School 
Deanna Medina, Fort Vancouver High School 
Jenna Melanson, La Center High School 
Christopher Mitchell, Mountain View High School 
Cassidy Moe, Union High School 
Nerissa Morrow, Evergreen High School 
Xuan Nhi T. Nguyen, Fort Vancouver High School 
Scout Osborne, La Center High School 
Sequoia Pullella-Barca, Vancouver iTech Preparatory 
Clayton Rajewich, King's Way Christian High School 
Tristan Ryan, Seton Catholic High School 
Zachary Sandoval, iTech Preparatory 
Courtney Schmit, Vancouver iTech Preparatory 
Emily Torjusen, Vancouver iTech Preparatory 
Emily Turcic, King's Way Christian High School 
Anais Urias, Seton Catholic High School 
Max VanArnam, Ridgefield High School 
Makenzie Wilson, Vancouver iTech Preparatory 

The Youth Leadership Award recipient will receive a $2,500 college scholarship, a $500 paid summer internship in the Fort Vancouver National Trust Celebrate Freedom office; opportunity to meet with local elected representatives; opportunity to participate in Celebrate Freedom events including Independence Day at Fort Vancouver, Flag Day at Fort Vancouver and Veterans Parade at Fort Vancouver; and a biography of General George C. Marshall. 

The recipients are selected by the Marshall Youth Award Selection Committee, which is co-chaired by Marshall Public Leadership Award Recipients, Tom Hagley, Jr. and Dr. Mike Stromme and includes community members Sharon Pesut, Twyla Barnes, and Paula Martin. Selection is based on the nominee's activities and projects demonstrating the values of General Marshall represented as one of America's leading citizens and soldiers. 

About the Fort Vancouver National Trust: 
Established in 1998, The Fort Vancouver National Trust is a nonprofit organization dedicated to creating a vibrant community that preserves and celebrates its rich history while shaping its legacy for the future. The mission of the Trust is to inspire civic pride and economic vitality through education, preservation, and celebration of our community's history. 
The Fort Vancouver National Trust produces a series of festive and educational events that inspire all generations to strengthen the community values of leadership, public service, lifelong learning, vision and patriotism. For more information, visit www.fortvan.org or call 360-992-1800.

Image Search:    |    
Last 24 Hours    |    Last 7 Days    |    All Time

Story Search:    |    Last 24 Hours    |    Last 7 Days    |    All Time